Fraunhofer Institute for Wind Energy Systems IWES


Director: Prof. Dr. Andreas Reuter

Contact: Hans Kyling


Fraunhofer Working Group Sustainable Maritime Mobility of the Fraunhofer Institute for Wind Energy Systems IWES

Design, construction, and operation of trendsetting wind propulsion systems

Boosting research and development for sustainable shipping: The foundation of the Fraunhofer Working Group Sustainable Maritime Mobility signals the start of a close collaboration under joint management between the University of Applied Sciences Emden/Leer and Fraunhofer IWES. The teams in Leer and Bremerhaven are focusing in close coordination on wind propulsion systems, design concepts, and scientific studies for emission-free shipping. In the experimental field, the Maritime Experimental Center in Leer forms the central facility of the working group. The unique testing infrastructure at the other IWES locations supplements the validation options in the area of full-scale applications among others. The many years of experience in the field of offshore wind energy flow into the working group, and synergies are created.

The joint methodological focal points are in the fields of maritime hydro- and aerodynamics, automation and systems technology, and materials technology. Hybrid model concepts result from the intersection of powerful modeling and simulation with measurement technology both in the laboratory and at sea. One special joint area of expertise lies in the use of crossover and upscaling effects between wind propulsion technology for vessels and classic wind energy systems.

Fraunhofer IWES secures investments in technological advancements through validation, shortens innovation cycles, accelerates certification processes, and increases planning accuracy through innovative measurement methods in the field of wind energy and hydrogen technology. There are currently around 300 scientists and employees as well as more than 150 students employed at nine locations: Bochum, Bremen, Bremerhaven, Leer, Görlitz, Hamburg, Hannover, Leuna, and Oldenburg.